Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /homepages/40/d393935381/htdocs/clickandbuilds/Ministars/wp-content/plugins/revslider/includes/operations.class.php on line 2492

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /homepages/40/d393935381/htdocs/clickandbuilds/Ministars/wp-content/plugins/revslider/includes/operations.class.php on line 2496

Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /homepages/40/d393935381/htdocs/clickandbuilds/Ministars/wp-content/plugins/revslider/includes/output.class.php on line 3468
Our Curriculum | MiniStars Childcare

Our Curriculum


We recognise every child is different, but believe they should all be treated equally.
Positive relationships and good communication are vital. Children need to learn about risks and safety, how to make good choices and how to stick to boundaries. We make every attempt to provide full opportunities for each child to do their best. We achieve this by ensuring their physical and emotional needs are met during their time at our nursery setting.

Positive Relationship
We aim to build, facilitate and sustain positive relationships with our children, their parents, extended family and the local community. ONE OF OUR DEFINING CHARACTERISTICS IS OUR ETGHOS OF WORKING TOGETHER TO FURTHER CHILDREN’S LEARNING, DEVELOPMENT AND OVERALL SENSE OF WELL-BEING.
Each child is assigned to a key Carer who will  oversee their learning journey. Carers build close relationship with their designated children and are also known to  parents/guardians.


There are seven areas  of learning and development that must shape educational programmes in early years settings.


The key areas of  development are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, for building their capacity to learn and to form relationships and thrive.

The prime areas are:

MiniStars must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. The specific areas are:

Educational programmes must involve activities and experiences for children, as follows:

Communication and Language
Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.

Physical Development
Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food. 

Personal, Social and Emotional Development
Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.

Makaton Sign Language

Makaton is a key part of our daily routine and registration. The signing is always conducted with the spoken word so it encourages ALL children to develop their communication skills. Since introducing makaton in our setting, we have found that it helps towards reducing children’s frustration as well as building upon their self-esteem. Makaton is also very good at helping those children with SEND or EAL.